"Čačak (Serbian Cyrillic: Чачак, pronounced [t͡ʃǎːt͡ʃak]) is a city and the administrative center of the Moravica District of Šumadija and Western Serbia. It is located in the valley of West Morava in the geographical region of Šumadija.
The city has a unique morphological area in its surroundings, the Ovčar-Kablar Gorge, where 300 monasteries have been built since the 14th century, but only 12 remain today. This area is also called "Serbian Mount Athos." Čačak got its current name in 1408; before that it was called Gradac. One of Gradac's leaders was Stracimir Zavidović, brother of Stefan Nemanja, an important Serbian ruler. He built the church of 'Our Lady' (Church of Jesus Ascension), which still stands in the center of Čačak. The church underwent reconstruction from 2010 to 2011, following an earthquake which damaged its facade."
Uploaded: Aug 5, 2017